Answered By: Ash Faulkner
Last Updated: Mar 29, 2023     Views: 11

The Millennium Development Goals originally had a target date of 2015 and focused on goals that could be universally agreed to by all countries:

  1. Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger
  2. Achieve universal primary education
  3. Promote gender equality and empower women
  4. Reduce child mortality
  5. Improve maternal health
  6. Combat HIV/AIDS, malaria and other diseases
  7. Ensure environmental sustainability, and;
  8. Develop a global partnership for development.

The goals have since evolved to the new Sustainable Development Goals, of which there are 17 intended to "Transform Our World".

Related Topics

Ask Us!